Page 10 of 43

Re: JLP wdm-ks player

Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 10:18 pm
by Aleg
sbgk wrote:....

was trying different sizes of latency, 10 is near 448 samples for 16/44 and 23 is near 1024 samples

....
Gordon

would you take the latency somewhat bigger so it can take 448 samples? 10 ms can hold 441 samples so it would have to be 11 ms to be able to hold 448 samples. Equally for other sample rates and number of samples

Code: Select all

latency in ms as function of sample rate and number of samples
             samples		
	     448	1024	2048
44100	10,2	23,2	46,4
48000	9,3	21,3	42,7
88200	5,1	11,6	23,2
96000	4,7	10,7	21,3
176400	2,5	5,8	11,6
192000	2,3	5,3	10,7

Re: JLP wdm-ks player

Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 10:24 pm
by sbgk
Aleg wrote:
sbgk wrote:....

was trying different sizes of latency, 10 is near 448 samples for 16/44 and 23 is near 1024 samples

....
Gordon

would you take the latency somewhat bigger so it can take 448 samples? 10 ms can hold 441 samples so it would have to be 11 ms to be able to hold 448 samples. Equally for other sample rates and number of samples

Code: Select all

latency in ms as function of sample rate and number of samples
             samples		
	     448	1024	2048
44100	10,2	23,2	46,4
48000	9,3	21,3	42,7
88200	5,1	11,6	23,2
96000	4,7	10,7	21,3
176400	2,5	5,8	11,6
192000	2,3	5,3	10,7
can't seem to set precise buffer sizes as you can with wasapi, don't know if you can do it in the program, but the parameter is to nearest 1ms.

preferred 3 for 16/44 and 5 for 24/96, will need to work out how to set it for different sampe rates like jplay does.

Re: JLP wdm-ks player

Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:04 pm
by DJ le Roi
Sbgk, I installed version 18 and the sound quality is wonderful.
-a 10 gave problems, noise. After deleting -a 10 it worked fine.
On this moment I use the LMS installed on my nas. Do you think the sound quality will improve when I install LMS on the audio pc?
Thanks for your interesting audio journey!

Re: JLP wdm-ks player

Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:17 pm
by sbgk
DJ le Roi wrote:Sbgk, I installed version 18 and the sound quality is wonderful.
-a 10 gave problems, noise. After deleting -a 10 it worked fine.
On this moment I use the LMS installed on my nas. Do you think the sound quality will improve when I install LMS on the audio pc?
Thanks for your interesting audio journey!
maybe that's why you have problems with 10ms, think squeezelite is using tcp/ip to talk to lms. Potentially it would be better as lower latency sounds better, if -a is not used then a high default setting is used. If you have 4 cores lms could be on 1, squeezelite on another etc

Re: JLP wdm-ks player

Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:39 pm
by Aleg
I'm confused about the order of starting lms and the new squeezelite start batch.

Should in the Avanced Settings of LocalPlayer AutoStart still be checked?
If so, then how will I make the player use the configuration of the start batch?
If the autostart should not be checked, then I will need to,start the start batch manually after lms has been started. In this case I don't get any sound at all though the player seems to be playing and the timer is running.

I copied the name of the output device as found in the localplayer.prefs after selecting the KS device

Code: Select all

C:\ProgramData\Squeezebox\Cache\InstalledPlugins\Plugins\LocalPlayer\Bin\squeezelite-win.exe -o "Speakers (Sonicweld Diverter HR2 Output) [Windows WDM-KS]" -d output=none -a 11 -b 1000:2000
Device listing

Code: Select all

Output devices:
  0 - Sonicweld Diverter HR ASIO D... [ASIO]
  1 - Speakers (Sonicweld Diverter HR2 Output) [Windows WDM-KS]
See any reason why no sound is heared?


Cheers

Aleg

Re: JLP wdm-ks player

Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:50 pm
by sbgk
Aleg wrote:I'm confused about the order of starting lms and the new squeezelite start batch.

Should in the Avanced Settings of LocalPlayer AutoStart still be checked?
If so, then how will I make the player use the configuration of the start batch?
If the autostart should not be checked, then I will need to,start the start batch manually after lms has been started. In this case I don't get any sound at all though the player seems to be playing and the timer is running.

I copied the name of the output device as found in the localplayer.prefs after selecting the KS device

Code: Select all

C:\ProgramData\Squeezebox\Cache\InstalledPlugins\Plugins\LocalPlayer\Bin\squeezelite-win.exe -o "Speakers (Sonicweld Diverter HR2 Output) [Windows WDM-KS]" -d output=none -a 11 -b 1000:2000
Device listing

Code: Select all

Output devices:
  0 - Sonicweld Diverter HR ASIO D... [ASIO]
  1 - Speakers (Sonicweld Diverter HR2 Output) [Windows WDM-KS]
See any reason why no sound is heared?


Cheers

Aleg
no autostart shouldn't be ticked.

the -d output=none is not a valid option, just remove -d altogether

so should be

Code: Select all

C:\ProgramData\Squeezebox\Cache\InstalledPlugins\Plugins\LocalPlayer\Bin\squeezelite-win.exe -o "Speakers (Sonicweld Diverter HR2 Output) [Windows WDM-KS]" -a 11 -b 1000:2000
I plan to start lms from a batch file as well.

Re: JLP wdm-ks player

Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:55 pm
by Aleg
I just found out why.

I had about half a dozen instances of squeezelite-win still running according to the taskmanager.
I guess the controler became somewhat confused as well ;-)

Now after manually runing start batch, the player can be controled from iPeng and I have sound as well.!!!

Any nice way to cancel the squeezelite-win?
Just closing the cmd window won't stop it and it will not respond to ctrl-c or other keystrokes.

I will remove the -d option as well.

Thank you

Re: JLP wdm-ks player

Posted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 12:13 am
by sbgk
Aleg wrote:I just found out why.

I had about half a dozen instances of squeezelite-win still running according to the taskmanager.
I guess the controler became somewhat confused as well ;-)

Now after manually runing start batch, the player can be controled from iPeng and I have sound as well.!!!

Any nice way to cancel the squeezelite-win?
Just closing the cmd window won't stop it and it will not respond to ctrl-c or other keystrokes.

I will remove the -d option as well.

Thank you
fairly sure the -d was the issue, I had the same problem

try the following in it's own batch and at the start of squeezelite batch

taskkill /fi "PID gt 0" /IM squeezelite-win.exe /F >nul

Re: JLP wdm-ks player

Posted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 1:06 am
by John Dot
The main issue is how to get proper device name!

As mentioned before I tried everything without success. But finally I can hear sound (amazing sound) from one of my beloved DAC MS II+.
First I used Stealth Audio Player to get proper names of my audio devices:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B4_v9KG ... WZDQQ/edit (read manul and install it)
These days it was the best player... It was.
Next step - LocalPlayer preferences

Code: Select all

C:\ProgramData\Squeezebox\prefs\plugin\localplayer.prefs
Just copy desired name from

Code: Select all

StealthAudioPlayer.ini
and paste it to localplayer.prefs like:
output:[space]yourdevicenamecopiedfromstealthini[space][Windows WDM-KS]
Replace [space] with SPACE

Nothing else works for me.

Re: JLP wdm-ks player

Posted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 1:11 am
by John Dot
sbgk wrote: can you post what your bat file looks like ?
are you still not getting anything out of the -l option, squeezelite will have to be stopped before you run -l
Sure, here it is:

Code: Select all

C:\ProgramData\Squeezebox\Cache\InstalledPlugins\Plugins\LocalPlayer\Bin\squeezelite-win.exe -o "DAC (3- Music Streamer II+) [Windows WDM-KS]" -a 11 -b 1000:2000

pause
(without PAUSE too)

-l gives me nothing (server stopped, even tray icon disabled etc. - just tried everything) I think SQL hungs in some way.